History of the College

        The Don Mariano Marcos Memorial State University (DMMMSU) offered the Bachelor of Science Agroforestry in 1976 and was the first educational institution to offer such program entire the world. The concept of agroforestry is founded on socio-economic and ecological premises. Agroforestry incorporates perennial tree crops with agricultural crops and/or animals and managed in a unit of land sequentially or spatially.

       Agroforestry is one of the most promising land-use systems for sustainable rural development. Cognizant of its potentials in rural development, agroforestry was conceived as distinct approach from agriculture and forestry, hence the offering of the B.S. Agroforestry program.

      In February 1986, the University received an Agroforestry Complex, a Grant-in-Aid (Gratis et Amore) from the Japanese government through the Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA). Since then, the Complex remained the main pillar of the Agroforestry Education courses and Faculty competencies in carrying out Agroforestry instruction, research and extension. With the aim of rationalizing the curricular offerings of the University, the BS Agroforestry program was further enhanced in 1997 with the transfer of the B.S Forestry (BSF) Program including the faculty and other resources from Rosario Campus to Bacnotan Campus. Therefore, the Department offers the BSAF and BSF curricular programs.

     In April 2002 the Agroforestry/Forestry Department was converted into an Institute of Agroforestry and watershed Management (IAWM). In April 2003, the Program for Strengthening the IAWM was launched under Asia-Link project in partnership with the University of Wales, UK and University of Cork, Ireland to enhance the capability of the Institute particularly its curricular programs. In January 2017, the Institute of Agroforestry and Forestry and Watershed Management (IAWM) became College of Agroforestry and Forestry headed by, Dr. Jessie V. Ufano.